Beautifully Crooked

One day- no, one moment- can change your life forever. Our family had a moment like this on November 30, 2015. It was supposed to be a routine MRI. I told her we would go get ice cream when it was done. I wasn’t able to follow through on that promise. What followed was the most terrifying day of my life since the day she was born (that’s a whole other story!).

My 10 year old daughter, Jada,

jadabowling
The moment we realized her smile had changed dramatically.

had what we were told was Bell’s Palsey. Her left side of her face had been paralyzed for a month. I took a picture of her one day during a family bowling trip. “Smile!” I told her. She replied “I am smiling!” But no, she was not. It was only half of a smile. We ended up being referred to a pediatric neurologist who diagnosed Bell’s Palsey after a very thorough examination and put her on steroids and antivirals. But it didn’t help. That is what led us to the day that changed everything. We didn’t expect to find anything abnormal. She seemed pretty normal other than being a bit clumsy sometimes. So I didn’t know what to think when they got her a wheelchair and sent us straight to the neurologist’s office. I thought it strange, “My daughter doesn’t need a wheelchair, she’s fine. It’s her face not her legs that are paralyzed.” I texted my husband to let him know what was happening. He of course was wishing he had come and began to panic. He was an hour away.

Meanwhile, I tried to remain calm and collected for Jada. I had to be strong and not show how nervous I was. Then the Dr. Asked me to step into another room. With my husband on speaker phone, we heard the words we were dreading. “Your daughter’s MRI came back abnormal. We found a growth.” I went numb. My husband began to panic over the phone and made arrangements to come right away. I didn’t let it get to me yet, I couldn’t fall apart in front of her. I just couldn’t. It was a long afternoon of waiting. Waiting to be admitted, waiting for my husband, for the neurosurgeon, and waiting to fall apart. Then came the moment I had to tell my sister over the phone. It was the first time I had to speak it out loud myself. I stepped into the hallway where I could still see my sweet Jada playing on her phone through the windows in the doors. I began to talk but the word ‘growth’ could not come out. I couldn’t breathe, it hit me. This isn’t just going to go away by itself. I shuttered to think of what she was about to endure. Feelings of helplessness flooded over me once more. I had felt that before going to see my newborn baby in the NICU almost exactly 11 years before. We have called her our little miracle. She was such a strong little preemie, born at only 1 lb 10 oz. Jadapreemiepic We thought all the hospital stuff was behind us. I was always so thankful she didn’t remember any of it, she knows just what we’ve told her. But this, now, she will never forget. She’s reminded every time she looks in the mirror, or has to find a straw to drink with. Or when the itches underneath her skin come and she can’t scratch them away. And I can’t take it away. The days of kissing boo boos to make them better is long gone. 
When things are out of our control, we have to trust in our God. We don’t know why our daughter has been chosen for this journey, but we know He will never leave us nor forsake us. We also know God’s word says we must count it all joy when we go through trials. In my fear and trembling, He speaks peace. Though I desperately want to hear it, if I let the fear cripple me, I will not hear it.

Yes, we have a long journey ahead of us. But we trust in our God and we will not be shaken. My Jada smiles her new, beautifully crooked smile. And she is my hero as we walk this journey together.meandJa

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance. Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.                                    James 1:2-4

The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you;  He will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.                                                     Deuteronomy 31:8

I keep my eyes always on the Lord. With Him at my right hand, I will not be shaken.          Psalm 16:8

22 thoughts on “Beautifully Crooked

  1. Britney Pitcher

    In tears! Everything was perfectly written and I can’t imagine the strength and courage required to write this. I love the title “Beautifully Crooked.” Although you are speaking of Jada’s beautiful smile, it reminds me that we are all beautifully crooked in some form.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh Leslie, I have walked in your shoes and it is soooo not easy, but God will do many things for you thru this and in this. Your walk and relationship will be forever changed. As I look into your life and story, I am reminded that God’s grace is sufficient. God has something beautiful that He is creating in Jada and you. It is beyond what we can even imagine but I promise it will make you stronger, and your relationship will run deeper. Your title made me think of my Thomas Kinkade that hangs on my wall. It is a beautiful piece of artwork and I consider it to be one of his most stand out pieces of art. If I was to hang the art work crooked on the wall, it would not change the fact that it was still a masterpiece, and since I am the owner of this house I can choose to straighten the artwork at anytime. The masterpiece belongs to me. Just remember that Jada is God’s masterpiece and she belongs to HIm. I love you and praying continually for Jada. I am very proud of you and I think I will love reading your new blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Cherie, yes I love that example of the painting. I chose that title because Jada is still beautiful, and she still smiles. It’s just not even. It’s crooked but beautifully crooked. She is definitely God’s masterpiece. He is working on her, inside of her. I just know it.

      Like

  3. Linda Sheppard--A.K.A. Jada's Nana

    This is so touching! You have expressed yourself very well. I love that you have included pictures of Jada., and a picture of you and Jada. I think that a blog is a great way for you to help deal with your feelings and give other people a glimpse into what you all are going through. We love you and are looking forward to seeing y’all in a couple of weeks. 😍💙

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Stephanie Taylor

    Wow! In so many ways, your writing points back to Jesus. It is so humbling to read about your journey, and see your unwavering faith in Jesus. Keep writing! Keep being a voice! It is evident that there is a special hand of grace upon your family. Much love!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Debbie Felton

    Thank you for sharing this. You my friend have been so strong in the Lord. To maintain your composure after hearing this news so that it would not effect the rest of your family is truthfully a sign of bravery. Not knowing why but my class has prayed for prayed for Jada. I believe God has great plans for her life. Thank you so much for being obedient to God.
    We felt the same way when they found the mass in my mom’s pancreas. The numbness I can relate. God is faithful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Debbie, it was not easy. Only through Christ! But Jada is the true brave one. Sorry you had to experience the numbness as well with your mom, but yes, God is so faithful!

      Like

Leave a comment